Amnesty International: Concept, design and realization of the “Toast to Freedom” website for “50 Years of Amnesty” anniversary.

Amnesty International | 2013 | Amnesty International - Toast To Freedom

Objective

It had been 50 years since the 3 million strong Amnesty International started its worldwide fight against human rights violations.

For their anniversary, guitarist Carl Carlton and the founder of Art for Amnesty, Bill Shipsey, thought of a special birthday present: a specially composed song for Amnesty recorded by over 50 musicians from around the world. Various music legends supported the idea, significantly Eric Burdon, Levon Helm, Ewan McGregor, Marianne Faithfull, Kris Kristofferson, Jane Birkin, Gentleman and many more.

We were entrusted with the concept and realization of the website, which would form the core of this project. Each sale would benefit Amnesty.

Our work

We conceptualized the information structure for the anniversary website “Toast to Freedom” and coordinated between the national organizations of Amnesty around the globe. We sketched several different design variations and implemented them in the Amnesty website for eight languages using WordPress, a free Content Management System. Depending on the origin of each visitor, nation-specific Amnesty news as well as donating and purchase links were automatically integrated via RSS feeds.

We created a mobile website for optimal smartphone browsing as well. In order to ensure the viral potential we created an area containing exclusive bonus content, which can be automatically accessed when sharing the site on Facebook or Twitter. The activities were flanked by a song contest in which every user was able to record his own version of the anniversary song and to participate in a poll determining the winner using Facebook Likes, thus ensuring the best possible site virality.

Furthermore, we developed a Facebook Page that functions as a portrait of the company’s central milestones using multimedia in the Timeline. To flexibly handle the unpredictable traffic-peaks during the appearance at the ‘Tonight Show with Jay Leno’ we chose and set up an easily scalable Cloud Hosting solution on Amazon Web Services (AWS).

Result

The website was launched with great success and integrated into each homepage of Amnesty International’s national organizations. By using the automatically generated links, depending on the country, we were able to assign the income gained by the song’s sales to each respective country. Based on this success Amnesty decided to entrust us with follow-up projects as well.

Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom
Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom artists
Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom artists Ewan McGregor
toasttofreedom_3
toasttofreedom_artists_2
toasttofreedom_single_artist_2
toasttofreedom_2

"Art for Amnesty worked with CREATIVE CONSTRUCTION on our Amnesty International 50th Anniversary 'Toast to Freedom' song project. This was a ground breaking project for Amnesty International.

CREATIVE CONSTRUCTION were quite simply superb both in terms of creative input and execution. Nothing was too much trouble and they were available to us 24/7 to help us to meet our deadlines. They were ‘Grand’."

Bill Shipsey

Founder Art for Amnesty

CREATIVE CONSTRUCTION | Digital Innovation - delivered. » Referenzen » Amnesty International: Konzeption und Umsetzung Jubiläumswebsite “50 Jahre Amnesty”

Amnesty International: Konzeption und Umsetzung Jubiläumswebsite “50 Jahre Amnesty”

Amnesty International | 2012 | Amnesty International - Toast To Freedom

Ausgangslage

Seit 50 Jahren kämpft Amnesty International mit derzeit über 3 Millionen Mitgliedern weltweit für die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte.

Zum Jubiläum überlegten sich Gitarrist Carl Carlton und Art for Amnesty-Gründer Bill Shipsey ein besonderes Geburtstagsgeschenk: einen eigens für Amnesty komponierten Song, der von über 50 Künstlern aus aller Welt eingespielt wurde. Von Musiklegenden wie Eric Burdon über Levon Helm, Ewan McGregor, Marianne Faithfull, Kris Kristofferson bis hin zu Jane Birkin und Gentlemen und vielen weiteren mehr war die Unterstützung für diese Idee groß.

Wir wurden mit der Konzeption und Umsetzung der Website beauftragt, die das Kernstück des Projekts bildete. Sämtliche Einnahmen aus den Verkäufen kamen Amnesty zugute.

Unsere Arbeit

Wir konzipierten die Informationsarchitektur der Jubiläums-Website “Toast to Freedom” und stimmten hierbei global die Interessen der Amnesty-Länderorganisationen miteinander ab. Wir entwarfen unterschiedliche Design-Varianten und setzten die Website achtsprachig auf WordPress als kostenlosem Content-Management-System für Amnesty um. Je nach Herkunft des jeweiligen Besuchers wurden via RSS-Feed automatisch die länderspezifischen Amnesty-News integriert und die Spenden- und Kauf-Links automatisch angepasst.

Ebenso wurde eine mobile Version erstellt, so dass die Website optimiert vom Smartphone aus zu nutzen ist. Zur Förderung des viralen Potenzials schufen wir einen Bereich mit exklusivem Bonus-Content, zu dem man automatisch Zugang bekam, wenn man über die Seite twitterte oder sie auf Facebook teilte. Flankiert wurden die Aktivitäten durch einen Gesangs-Contest, in dem jeder seine eigene Version des Jubiläums-Songs aufnehmen und zur bestmöglichen viralen Verbreitung mit Facebook-Likes über den Sieger abstimmen konnte.

Wir entwickelten ebenso die Facebook-Page, auf der anhand einer multimedialen Timeline durch die zentralen Meilensteine der Organisation geführt wurde. Um vor dem Hintergrund des Auftritts in der Tonight-Show-with-Jay-Leno mit unerwarteten Traffic-Peaks flexibel umgehen zu können, wählten wir ein problemlos skalierbares Cloud-Hosting mit Amazon Web Services (AWS) und richteten es ein.

Resultat

Die Website wurde mit großem Erfolg gelauncht und in die Homepage sämtlicher Amnesty International Länderorganisationen integriert. Über die je nach Landeszugriff automatisch passend generierten Links konnten die Einnahmen aus dem Verkauf des Songs passend den jeweiligen Länderorganisstionen zugeordnet werden. Basierend auf den erzielten Erfolgen entschied Amnesty sich auch in Folgeprojekten wieder für uns.

Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom
Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom artists
Amnesty International – Toast To Freedom artists Ewan McGregor
toasttofreedom_3
toasttofreedom_artists_2
toasttofreedom_single_artist_2
toasttofreedom_2

"Art for Amnesty worked with CREATIVE CONSTRUCTION on our Amnesty International 50th Anniversary 'Toast to Freedom' song project. This was a ground breaking project for Amnesty International.

CREATIVE CONSTRUCTION were quite simply superb both in terms of creative input and execution. Nothing was too much trouble and they were available to us 24/7 to help us to meet our deadlines. They were ‘Grand’."

Bill Shipsey

Founder Art for Amnesty

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht!

Sie haben ambitionierte Pläne und benötigen Unterstützung? Wir freuen uns darauf, von Ihnen zu hören!

Please leave this field empty.